Asean New Zealand Free Trade Agreement

Revised rules of origin for trans-Tasman trade came into effect on September 1, 2011. For more information on the rules of origin for ANCERTA and general instructions for using the agreement, see fact sheet 20 (PDF 268 KB). More information can also be found on the MFAT website. We are negotiating a revaluation of our existing free trade agreement with ASEAN to modernize it, further reduce export barriers and boost trade in the region. While Appendix 2 of the AANZFTA agreement contains official psR data, this Finder psR is an effective tool to help users easily find, with the 2017 harmonized system, goods traded under the AANZFTA. On the basis of the liberalization of services within the framework of the World Trade Organization (WTO), AANZFTA continues to improve the trade obligations and obligations of services through Chapter 8 on Trade in Services. Under the AANZFTA, Australia and New Zealand have made interesting commitments in a number of service sectors. Chapter 2 of the agreement provides for a gradual liberalisation of tariffs from the entry into force of the AANZFTA agreement. The goal is to eliminate at least 90% of products marketed in the region within a specified time frame. Australia and New Zealand have pledged to eliminate tariffs 100% by 2020. The South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement (SPARTECA) is a non-reciprocal trade agreement in which NZ (with Australia) provides preferential tariff treatment for certain products that are the production or production of Pacific Forum countries (known as the Forum Island Countries).

For NZ products exported to an Island Country Forum, there is no preferential rate. In parallel with the AANZFTA negotiations, New Zealand has successfully concluded bilateral free trade agreements with Thailand (2005) and Malaysia (2010). More recently, New Zealand has also successfully finalized and ratified the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), which includes Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia and Australia. All these free trade agreements are now taking place at the same time as the AANZFTA, in addition to Singapore`s close economic partnership (2000). The Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement (P4) is an agreement between Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Singapore and NZ. The P4 agreement, which represents “Pacific 4,” came into force in 2006. Under P4, most tariffs on goods traded between Member States were immediately abolished, with the remaining tariffs expiring (until 2015 for Brunei Darussalam and 2017 for Chile). The Enhanced Economic Partnership Agreement between New Zealand and Hong Kong,China (NZ-HKC CEP) was signed on 29 March 2010 in Hong Kong and came into force on 1 January 2011.

The agreement allows products exported from Hong Kong, China, to receive preferential tariff treatment upon importation into the NZ. Currently, all those who are imported into Hong Kong, China, are duty free, regardless of their origin. The agreement ensures that in the future, New Zealand goods imported into Hong Kong will remain duty-free in China. The New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (NZCFTA) came into force on 1 October 2008. NZ was the first OECD country to sign a comprehensive free trade agreement with China. facilitate the free movement of businessmen engaged in commercial and investment activities; and find out how our other free trade agreements compare ASEAN members. In order to facilitate the free movement of individuals in trade and investment, the AANZFTA has a chapter on the free movement of individuals (MNP). This chapter outlines the obligations and obligations for the temporary free movement of individuals, including the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA), which is one of the most dynamic economic regions in the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.